About us

The Irish Society of Obstetric Anaesthesia

The Irish Society of Obstetric Anaesthesia was formed in 1997 to provide a focus for educational meetings in Ireland aimed at Obstetric Anaesthetists, Trainees and Obstetric and Midwifery practitioners.

The society hopes to encourage research and audit activities based in Irish uinits.
ISOA has hosted international obstetric anaesthesia meetings in Ireland.

Annual Subscription includes registration for the ISOA annual meeting.


President – Dr Stephen Smith

Honorary Secretary – Dr Larry Crowley

Honorary Treasurer – Dr Robert ffrench O’Carroll

Communications Secretary – Dr Rose Kearseley

Committee Members – Dr Nikki Higgins, Dr Murray Connolly, Dr Gerard Browne, Dr Kieran Brosnan

Past Presidents of ISOA

Dr. James Gardiner 2000 – 2003

Dr. Liam Briggs 2004 – 2006

Dr. Michael Carey 2007 – 2009

Dr. John Loughrey 2010-2015

Dr Terry Tan 2016-2018

Dr Niamh Hayes 2019-2022